Pays Basque

Pays Basque

Book a hotel or gourmet restaurant in pays Basque

In both summer and winter, the Basque Country, in the Gulf of Gascony, is a prized destination for family holidays as much as a short romantic break. Between sea and mountain, this region with strong character offers charm and a change of scenery. Les Collectionneurs offer the following establishments where you can stay or have a bite to eat. 

  • Organise your stay in the Basque Country
  • A hotel on the Basque coast to recharge your batteries
  • Why not opt for a hotel with outdoor pool in the Basque Country?
  • Find a restaurant in the Basque Country

Organise your stay in the Basque Country

On the occasion of the Bayonne 'ferias', for summer holidays or at the Toussaint, the Basque Country is appreciated all year round. Surfers and lovers of water sports will find happiness at Anglet, Guéthary, Bidart or on the large beach of Saint-Jean-de-Luz.

Nestled between ocean and mountain Biarritz, formerly a destination of choice for Empress Eugenie, offers beautiful panoramas with views of the Atalaye or the Rocher de la Vierge. To admire the landscape as a whole, jump on the small Train de la Rhune built in the 1920s to climb the tops of the Pyrenees to enjoy breathtaking views over the Atlantic Ocean, from Saint-Sébastien to Biarritz to the beaches of the Landes. Don't hesitate to enter the countryside, the picturesque villages and push it all the way to Sare, a French enclave in Navarre. On the opposite side of the Spanish border, take a trip to Saint Sebastian and Bilbao to the Guggenheim museum. 

A hotel on the Basque coast to recharge your batteries

In all seasons, this beautiful region with a strong identity nestled on the foothills of the Pyrenees makes for a pleasant experience. The Basque Country is perfect for a romantic weekend or a break with children. In summer, enjoy the mild ocean climate of the Atlantic coast. The Basque Coast, the coastline linking Anglet and Bilbao, offers a rich and varied landscape. On the French side, beaches of fine sand while the Spanish side is wilder with peak cliffs. Travellers will enjoy a moment of lazing around and surfing enthusiasts will delight in the waves. To complete your stay in the Basque country, stay in a hotel in Biarritz allows you to explore the region. A room with sea view will allow you to enjoy the sun in complete privacy.

Les Collectionneurs offer a selection of hotels of character, rooted in the spirit of the region. These establishments are all equipped with comfortable rooms with excellent bedding. All modern comforts can be found, from the fully-equipped bathroom to a flat-screen TV via Wifi. More than just top-of-the-range, these establishments bring out real personality and a friendly welcome. Depending on your desire, its possible to choose a 19th-century castle tucked away in a large wooded estate or a typical "etxe", this large building with its whitewashed walls and red half-timbered facades. In the morning, a continental breakfast or a buffet are served in the garden or on the terrace. In winter, these charming hotels become cosy cocoons much loved from the very first snows. The perfect pied-à-terre for a mountain break, these hotels with fireplaces and rooms with exposed beams and warm decorations are akin to elegant refuges where you can enjoy a stay after a hike or a day on the slopes.

Why not opt for a hotel with outdoor pool in the Basque Country?

In summer, the beach at Socoa or the seaside resort town of Ciboure attracts visitors. Travellers looking for serenity might prefer to wander in the countryside, visit the village of Ainhoa, typical of the Pyrenees-Atlantiques, which used to welcome pilgrims to Saint-Jacques-de-Compostella, or even enjoy the old town of Bayonne with its canals. But nothing prevents enjoying a dip in complete privacy in a spa . Staying in a hotel in Bayonne or towards Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port breathes in the sea air in complete privacy. These establishments offer a pool set in a lush . The gentle charm of a stone terrace with its sun loungers, the sounds of fountains and the song of the birds transport the traveller to a haven of peace.

Find a restaurant in the Basque Country

With gascony and Béarnaise influences, the of basque country is rich in a range of flavours. Of course, it's seafood with chipirons, sorts of squid or txangurro, stuffed crab, ewe's cheeses like Ossau-Iraty or Etorki, but also desserts with the famous Basque cake made with cherry jam or pastry cream. Basque cuisine is also a journey . The symbolic Espelette pepper was imported from America by Juan Sebastián Elcano, a getaria native, who brought the ships back to The Persia. "Pintxos", these real traditional dishes in miniature, are reminiscent of Spanish tapas. These specialities can be enjoyed with a glass of wine from the vineyards of Irouléguy, the smallest AOC in France, which stretches out on the terrace on a steep relief around Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port.

The fine restaurants selected by les Collectionneurs embody restaurateurs' passion for the authenticity and love of local cuisine. To prolong a gourmet trip, all you need to do is book a room in a hotel-restaurant in the Basque region.

Our 9 available establishments

Types of establishment
Sort by popularity
  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Bistro brasseries
  • Guesthouses
  • Hotel-restaurants
  • Guesthouses - Restaurant
\
Hôtel Ithurria
Ainhoa · near SAINT-JEAN-DE-LUZ (25km)
Services and character
Grande table
26 rooms
Arraya
Sare · near SAINT-JEAN-DE-LUZ (12km)
Services and character
Bonne table
16 rooms
Château du Clair de Lune
BIARRITZ
Services and character
18 rooms
La Réserve
SAINT-JEAN-DE-LUZ · near BIARRITZ (10km)
Services and character
Bonne table
41 rooms
Hôtel des Pyrénées
SAINT-JEAN-PIED-DE-PORT · near BIARRITZ (50km)
Services and character
Bonne table
18 rooms
Les Jardins de Bakea
Biriatou · near HENDAYE (5km)
Comfort & simplicity
Bonne table
21 rooms
Atelier A. Bousquet
BIARRITZ
Grande table
Ostalapia
AHETZE · near SAINT-JEAN-DE-LUZ (5km)
Bonne table
Dominxenea
Sare · near SAINT-JEAN-DE-LUZ (12km)
Comfort & simplicity
3 rooms
No establishment matches your selected search filter(s)
Results  to of
Top of page
Book

Pays Basque

Pays Basque

Réserver un hôtel au Pays Basque ou un restaurant gourmand

Été comme hiver, le Pays basque, dans le golfe de Gascogne, est une destination prisée autant pour des vacances familiales qu'un court séjour en amoureux. Entre mer et montagne, ce territoire au fort caractère offre charme et dépaysement. Pour séjourner ou se restaurer, les Collectionneurs proposent les établissements suivants. 

  • Organiser son séjour dans le Pays basque
  • Un hôtel sur la côte basque pour se ressourcer
  • Pourquoi ne pas opter pour un hôtel avec piscine extérieure dans le Pays basque ?
  • Dénicher un restaurant dans le Pays basque

Organiser son séjour dans le Pays basque

À l'occasion des ferias de Bayonne, pour des vacances d'été ou à la Toussaint, le Pays basque s'apprécie toute l'année. Les surfeurs et amateurs d'activités nautiques trouveront leur bonheur à Anglet, Guéthary, Bidart ou sur la grande plage de Saint-Jean-de-Luz.

Nichée entre océan et montagne Biarritz, autrefois lieu de villégiature de l'impératrice Eugénie, offre de beaux panoramas avec le point de vue de l’Atalaye ou le Rocher de la Vierge. Pour admirer les paysages dans son ensemble il faudra sauter dans le petit train de la Rhune construit dans les années 1920 qui grimpe sur les cimes de la chaîne pyrénéenne pour offrir une vue imprenable sur l'Océan Atlantique, de Saint-Sébastien à Biarritz jusqu'aux plages des Landes. Il ne faudra pas hésiter à pénétrer dans les terres, visiter de pittoresques villages et pousser jusqu'à Sare, une enclave française en Navarre. De l'autre côté de la frontière espagnole, une excursion s'impose vers Saint-Sébastien et Bilbao afin de visiter le musée Guggenheim. 

Un hôtel sur la côte basque pour se ressourcer

En toutes saisons, cette belle région à forte identité nichée sur les contreforts des Pyrénées se veut agréable. Le Pays basque convient aussi bien pour un week-end en amoureux ou un séjour avec enfants. À la belle saison, il est plaisant de profiter du climat océanique doux de la côte Atlantique. La Côte des Basques, le littoral reliant Anglet à Bilbao, offre un paysage varié et riche. Du côté français, s'étirent de belles plages de sable fin tandis que le côté espagnol se veut plus sauvage avec des falaises à pic. Les voyageurs apprécieront un instant de farniente et les amateurs de surf se feront plaisir dans les vagues. Pour parfaire un séjour dans le Pays basque, séjourner dans un hôtel à Biarritz permettra de sillonner dans la région. Une chambre avec vue sur mer permettra de profiter du soleil en toute intimité.

Les Collectionneurs proposent une sélection d'hôtels de caractère, ancrés dans l'esprit de la région. Ces établissements sont tous dotés de chambres confortables avec une belle literie, et toutes équipées. Tout le confort moderne s'y retrouve, de la salle de bain équipée, à la télévision écran plat en passant par l'accès wifi. Plus que du haut de gamme, ces établissements diffusent une véritable personnalité et un accueil convivial. Selon les envies, il est possible d'opter pour un château du XIXe siècle niché dans un grand domaine arboré ou une « etxe » typique, cette grande bâtisse avec ses murs blanchis à la chaux et ses colombages rouges. Le matin, y sont servis un petit-déjeuner continental ou un buffet dans le jardin ou sur la terrasse. L'hiver ces hôtels de charme deviennent des cocons cosy tant appréciés dès les premières neiges. Pied-à-terre parfait pour un séjour à la montagne, ces hôtels dotés de cheminée et de chambres avec poutres apparentes à la décoration chaleureuse s'apparentent à d'élégants refuges où il fait bon séjourner après une randonnée ou une journée à ski.

Pourquoi ne pas opter pour un hôtel avec piscine extérieure dans le Pays basque ?

En plein été, la plage de Socoa ou la station balnéaire de Ciboure attirent du monde. Les voyageurs en quête de sérénité préféreront sans doute flâner dans l'arrière-pays, visiter le village d'Ainhoa typique des Pyrénées-Atlantiques, qui accueillait autrefois les pèlerins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, ou encore profiter de la vieille ville de Bayonne avec ses canaux. Mais rien n'empêche une agréable baignade en toute intimité dans un hôtel spa. Séjourner dans un hôtel à Bayonne ou vers Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port appelle à respirer l'air du grand large en toute intimité. Ces établissements disposent d'une grande piscine implantée dans un jardin verdoyant. Le charme doux d'une terrasse de pierres avec ses transats, le bruit des fontaines et le chant des oiseaux transportent le voyageur dans un havre de paix.

Dénicher un restaurant dans le Pays basque

Avec des influences gasconne et béarnaise la gastronomie du Pays basque se veut riche d'un éventail de saveurs. Ce sont bien sûr les produits de la mer avec les chipirons, sortes d'encornets ou le txangurro, le crabe farci, des fromages de brebis comme l'Ossau-Iraty ou l'Etorki, mais aussi les desserts avec le fameux gâteau basque à base de confiture de cerise ou de crème pâtissière. La cuisine basque est aussi un voyage. Le très symbolique piment d'Espelette a été importé d’Amérique par Juan Sebastián Elcano, originaire de Getaria, qui ramena les vaisseaux de Magellan. Les pintxos, ces véritables plats traditionnels en miniature, rappellent les tapas espagnols. Ces spécialités se dégustent avec un verre de vin issu du vignoble d'Irouléguy, plus petite AOC de France, qui s'étire en terrasse sur un relief pentu autour de Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port.

Les bonnes tables sélectionnées par les Collectionneurs incarnent la passion des restaurateurs pour l'authenticité et l'amour d'une cuisine de terroir. Pour prolonger une virée gourmande et, il n'y a plus qu'à réserver une chambre dans un hôtel-restaurant de la région basque.

Nos 9 établissements disponibles

Types d'établissements
Trier par popularité
  • Hôtels
  • Restaurants
  • Bistrot brasseries
  • Maison d’hôtes
  • Hôtels-restaurants
  • Maison d’hôtes - Restaurant
\
Hôtel Ithurria
AINHOA · proche de SAINT-JEAN-DE-LUZ ( 25 km)
Services & caractère
Grande table
26 chambres
Arraya
SARE · proche de SAINT-JEAN-DE-LUZ ( 12 km)
Services & caractère
Bonne table
16 chambres
Château du Clair de Lune
BIARRITZ
Services & caractère
18 chambres
La Réserve
SAINT-JEAN-DE-LUZ · proche de BIARRITZ ( 10 km)
Services & caractère
Bonne table
41 chambres
Hôtel des Pyrénées
SAINT-JEAN-PIED-DE-PORT · proche de BIARRITZ ( 50 km)
Services & caractère
Bonne table
18 chambres
Les Jardins de Bakea
BIRIATOU · proche de HENDAYE ( 5 km)
Confort & simplicité
Bonne table
21 chambres
Atelier A. Bousquet
BIARRITZ
Grande table
Ostalapia
AHETZE · proche de SAINT-JEAN-DE-LUZ ( 5 km)
Bonne table
Dominxenea
SARE · proche de SAINT-JEAN-DE-LUZ ( 12 km)
Confort & simplicité
3 chambres
Il n'y a aucun établissement correspondant au(x) filtre(s) sélectionné(s)
Résultats à sur
Retour en haut
Réserver